Users can use the restrict feature on Instagram to limit someone’s ability to interact with them on the platform. It is worth noting that Instagram does not notify users when other people restrict them. So, how do you know if someone has restricted you on Instagram?
How Do I Know If Someone Restricted Me on Instagram?
Fortunately, there are indirect ways to tell if someone has restricted you on Instagram. We have covered the three most effective ways to know if your suspicion about being restricted by a person is accurate.
Method1: Use another Account to Look for Your Recent Comments on Their Posts
When someone restricts you on Instagram, your comments on their posts appear to only you and them. Other users on Instagram would not be able to view your comments on their posts. Note that it does not apply to all your comments on that user’s posts.
Only the comments you published after the person restricted you will become invisible to other users on Instagram. In other words, your comments on their posts before the person restricted you will still appear to other Instagram users.
An effective way to know if someone restricted you on Instagram involves checking your recent comments on that person’s posts using another account. Ask one of your friends to let you use their Instagram account for this purpose or create a new account yourself.
You are restricted if you can see your recent comments on the user’s posts using the second account but cannot view them using your original account. You can also publish new comments on the user’s posts and check whether they appear on other Instagram accounts. It is especially effective if you have not commented on their posts for a while.
Method2: Send a Direct Message
When someone restricts you on Instagram, your direct messages go to their message request tab. You can use this fact to know if someone restricted you on Instagram.
Send the person a private message and wait for their reply. If your messages do not get marked as seen, or it takes too much time for them to reply, you might be restricted.
However, you cannot be sure if someone has restricted you on Instagram using the above method. It may be that the person has not restricted you but only disabled their active status.
You may like: How to See Message Requests on Instagram 2022
Method3: Pay Attention to their Active Status
When a user restricts you on Instagram, you cannot see their active status. In other words, you would not be able to view when the person was last active on Instagram.
Keep in mind that you also would not be able to see their active status if they have disabled it for all users. The same will be true if you have disabled your active status option. To see other users’ active status on Instagram, you need to enable your active status first.
Here is a quick guide that will show you how to turn on your Instagram active status.
Step1: Launch Instagram and jump to your profile page by hitting your profile picture.
Step2: On your profile page, tap the Hamburger menu and choose Settings.
Step3: Select Privacy.
Step4: Turn on the Active Status feature.
If the activity status of the person still does not appear, try checking it using another account. The person has restricted you if you cannot see their active status on your main account, but you can view it using other Instagram accounts.