You get a public account by default when you join TikTok. However, you can switch to a private account whenever you want1. Everybody can see your videos when you have a public TikTok account. On the other hand, having a private account lets you decide who can see your videos.
Switching to a private account is a good idea if you do not want random strangers to see your videos. When you have a private account, people would have to follow you first to be able to see your videos. You can accept or ignore their follow requests as you see fit. Unless you approve a user’s following request, they could not see your TikTok videos.
We will understand in this article how to make TikTok account private.
Switch to a Private TikTok Account
Step1: Launch TikTok and open your profile page by tapping the profile tab in the bottom-right corner.
Step2: Open account settings by tapping the three-dotted menu in the top-right of the screen.
Step3: Choose Privacy and safety from the menu.
Step4: Enable the Private account toggle to make your account private.
You have successfully made your TikTok account private. To switch back to a public TikTok account, follow the above steps except for step4. You need to turn off the private account toggle in step 4 to make your account public again.
2 thoughts on “How to Make TikTok Account Private 2022”